SimplyBook.me caps bookings on every plan and rations features like calendar sync. Compare 7 SimplyBook.me alternatives for 2027 on price and features.
SimplyBook.me looks cheap until your business grows. Every plan caps your monthly bookings, from 50 on the free plan to 2,000 on Premium. Calendar sync, intake forms, payments and deposits are each a separate "custom feature", and the Basic plan allows three. Text and WhatsApp reminders are paid for in credit packs on top.
If that is why you are looking for a SimplyBook alternative, this guide is for you. Below we lay out where SimplyBook.me falls short, with sources, then compare seven alternatives: RazorBooking, Acuity Scheduling, Setmore, Square Appointments, Vagaro, Fresha and Calendly. Further down, we compare SimplyBook.me pricing plan by plan.
We make RazorBooking, so we list it first, with the same pros and cons as every other tool. Every fact about the other tools comes from the vendor's own pages, checked in October 2026.
The short list
Best SimplyBook.me alternative for growing service businesses: RazorBooking
Best for detailed intake forms: Acuity Scheduling
Best free plan for a small team: Setmore
Best free plan with unlimited staff calendars: Square Appointments
Best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios: Vagaro
Best for finding new clients through a marketplace: Fresha
Best for booking meetings and sales calls: Calendly
Why people leave SimplyBook.me: 6 problems users keep reporting
These are the limits and complaints that come up again and again, on SimplyBook's own pricing page, in Capterra and G2 reviews and on Reddit.
1. Every plan caps your bookings
SimplyBook.me limits how many bookings you can take each month: 50 on Free, 100 on Basic, 500 on Standard and 2,000 on Premium. A salon of four stylists can pass 100 bookings in its first week. Go over, and you either upgrade or buy extra bookings at $4 per 100. Your price rises because you are busy, not because you need new features.
2. Basic features eat a small "custom feature" allowance
SimplyBook sells most of its tools as custom features. Free includes 1, Basic 3, Standard 8, and only Premium is unlimited. Its help center lists calendar sync, intake forms, accepting payments, deposits, coupons and the waiting list as separate custom features. Users on Reddit's r/ESL_Teachers say a few standard features use up the allowance and push small businesses onto a much pricier plan. A Capterra reviewer put it plainly: "If you need more than 3 custom features, monthly fees triple to get to the next tier." Another, in July 2025, wrote that even "the limit of 8 custom features feels too restrictive."
3. Setup is confusing
Because so much is a separate feature to switch on, setup takes time. A Capterra reviewer wrote in July 2026 that "the initial setup can feel a bit overwhelming due to the sheer number of customization options." Another said "settings are divided into several interconnected tabs," so a change in one place affects another, and a third called the learning curve "slow and long." On G2, a user summed it up: "too many buttons and options." Small business owners on Reddit's r/smallbusiness raise the same point when comparing booking tools.
4. Text, WhatsApp and AI are paid by the message
SMS reminders are not part of any plan. You buy them in packs: 100 SMS credits for $8, 100 WhatsApp credits for $8, and 100 AI Voice Booking credits for $8. One Capterra reviewer said "some of the options that you have to pay extra to use" should be in the base plan.
5. Help is by chat, and more help costs extra
A Capterra reviewer wrote in January 2026 that "you have to use the live chat facility when making contact," with no phone option. Another said phone help comes only if you pay. SimplyBook's own pricing page lists account manager help at $100 an hour and full setup help from $499.
6. Your own brand costs extra
SimplyBook's white label, which removes its footer from your booking page, starts on Premium at $49.90 a month on yearly billing. A custom domain is a separate $119 add-on. A Capterra reviewer said, "I did not like that I had to pay for setting up a custom domain."
When SimplyBook.me is still the right tool
If you take fewer than 50 bookings a month and need just one feature, SimplyBook's free plan costs nothing. Its catalog of around 88 custom features also covers niche needs that simpler tools skip, and it scores 4.6 on Capterra from 1,292 reviews. If that fits your business, staying can make sense. The alternatives below are for businesses that have outgrown the caps.
SimplyBook.me alternatives compared: two quick tables
Best SimplyBook alternative by use case
Use case | Best tool | Why it fits |
|---|---|---|
Salons, clinics and studios that are growing | RazorBooking | Unlimited bookings, with deposits, intake forms, coupons, no-show fees and WhatsApp reminders on the first plan |
AI that answers calls and website visitors | RazorBooking | Optional AI phone receptionist and AI voice widget. SimplyBook bills AI Voice Booking by the credit. |
Detailed intake forms | Acuity Scheduling | Custom intake forms on every plan, and a choice of payment processors |
A free plan for a small team | Setmore | Free for up to 4 users with unlimited appointments |
A free plan with many staff calendars | Square Appointments | Unlimited staff calendars on the free plan |
All-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios | Vagaro | Booking, payments, marketing and a free Vagaro marketplace listing |
New clients from a marketplace | Fresha | A large beauty and wellness marketplace, with a fee only on new clients it sends you |
Meetings and sales calls | Calendly | Fast setup and a large integration list, but one event type per link |
Fewer than 50 bookings a month | Stay with SimplyBook.me | The free plan covers it, with one custom feature |
Feature-by-feature comparison
Feature | RazorBooking | Acuity Scheduling | Setmore | Square Appointments | Vagaro | Fresha | Calendly | SimplyBook.me (for reference) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Best for | Service businesses with a team | Client sessions with intake forms | Small teams on a budget | Businesses already using Square | Salons, spas and fitness studios | Beauty and wellness businesses | Meetings and sales calls | Low-volume businesses with niche needs |
Free plan | ✗ No. 7-day free trial, no credit card needed. | ✗ No, 7-day trial | ✓ Yes, up to 4 users | ✓ Yes, without no-show fees | ✗ No, 30-day trial | ✗ No, 7-day trial | ✓ Yes, 1 event type, no payments | ✓ Yes, 50 bookings, 1 provider, 1 custom feature |
Paid plans start at | $15 per month billed yearly, $19 monthly (Solo, 3 team members) | $16 per month billed yearly (1 calendar) | $5 per user per month billed yearly | $49 per month per location (Plus) | $23.99 per month for the first 6 months ($30 list) | $19.95 per month for 1 team member | $10 per seat per month billed yearly | $11.90 per month billed yearly, $13.90 monthly |
Monthly booking limit | ✓ Unlimited on every plan | Not stated on the pricing page | ✓ Unlimited appointments | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 50, 100, 500 or 2,000, then $4 per 100 |
Deposits and no-show fees | ✓ Deposits, no-show and cancellation fees from Solo | Deposits. No-show fee not stated. | Deposits on Pro | No-show fees on Plus and Premium only | Not stated on the pricing page | ✓ Deposits and no-show fees listed | ✗ No automated no-show fee | Deposits are a custom feature from Basic |
Reminders | ✓ WhatsApp, SMS and email from Solo | Email. Text reminders on Standard and Premium. | 1 email reminder on Free. SMS on Pro. | Appointment reminders on every plan | Unlimited notifications and reminders | 100 free texts per team member a month, then 2¢ each | Email and text on paid plans | SMS and WhatsApp bought in packs, $8 per 100 |
AI | ✓ Optional AI voice widget and AI phone receptionist | AI Booking Assistant on Premium | ✗ None. Human Live Receptionist at $99 per month (US only). | Square Assistant writes appointment messages | Vera AI for marketing and client messages | Not stated on the pricing page | Notetaker and Callie, for meeting notes and email scheduling | AI Voice Booking, $8 per 100 credits |
Booking page | ✓ Branded page. Your own domain on Pro and Growth. | "Powered by Acuity" removed on Premium only | Setmore branding on Free, removed on Pro | Free online booking site | Booking plus a Vagaro marketplace listing | Booking links plus the Fresha marketplace | Customizable page | White label on Premium. Custom domain is a $119 add-on. |
"Not stated" means the vendor's pricing page does not mention it, not that the feature is missing. Plans and prices change, so confirm on each site.
The 7 best SimplyBook.me alternatives, reviewed
1. RazorBooking: best for growing service businesses that don't want booking caps or feature quotas
RazorBooking is a booking and appointment platform for businesses that sell services, such as salons, barbers, clinics and studios. Where SimplyBook.me caps your bookings and rations features, RazorBooking's Solo plan includes unlimited bookings, and its features aren't counted against an allowance.

Key features
Unlimited bookings on every plan. Your price doesn't rise because you get busier.
No feature allowance. Deposits, online payments, intake forms, coupons and no-show and cancellation fees are all in Solo.
WhatsApp, SMS and email reminders from Solo. Clients get confirmations and reminders in the app they already read.
Team members included. 3 on Solo, 5 on Pro and 10 on Growth, with a service menu and clients choosing who they see.
Payments with no commission. Take a deposit or full payment at booking through your own Stripe or PayPal account.
Your own domain on Pro and Growth. Run bookings from your own web address.
AI phone receptionist and voice widget (optional). AI that answers calls and website visitors, checks availability and books the client.

Pros
Unlimited bookings, so you never pay more for being busy
Deposits, intake forms, coupons and no-show fees all included on Solo
WhatsApp, SMS and email reminders on the first paid plan
Choose a plan with AI or without it
Cons
A 7-day free trial instead of a free plan, with no credit card needed
No Apple or iCloud Calendar sync; Google and Outlook calendars sync both ways
Pricing
Solo is $15 per month on yearly billing ($19 monthly) and includes 3 team members, unlimited bookings, deposits, online payments, intake forms, coupons, no-show fees and WhatsApp reminders. Pro is $29 per month on yearly billing ($39 monthly), includes 5 team members and adds your own domain. Growth is $49 per month on yearly billing ($59 monthly) and includes 10 team members. Extra team members are $9 a month billed yearly ($10 monthly). Every plan works without AI. If you want AI answering, turn it on for any plan: Solo with AI is $25 a month billed yearly ($29 monthly), Pro $49 ($59) and Growth $79 ($99), with 50, 150 or 300 AI minutes a month. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.
RazorBooking vs SimplyBook.me
A salon of four taking around 400 bookings a month is past SimplyBook's Basic limit of 100 bookings. It needs Standard, which allows 500. On RazorBooking, the same salon uses Solo with 1 extra team member, with no booking limit.
Competitor plan | RazorBooking plan |
|---|---|
SimplyBook Standard: $24.90–$29.90 per month for up to 500 bookings and 8 custom features, plus message credits | RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member: $24–$29 per month for 4 team members, with unlimited bookings and WhatsApp reminders |
The price is almost the same, $0.90 a month apart. The difference is the limit: RazorBooking has no booking cap, while SimplyBook Standard stops at 500 bookings a month.
Compare like with like: $24.90 against $24 is yearly billing, and $29.90 against $29 is monthly billing. SimplyBook's SMS and WhatsApp credits ($8 per 100) come on top. RazorBooking Solo includes 100 SMS and WhatsApp messages a month, then $20 for 500 more. Past 500 bookings, SimplyBook needs Premium at $49.90 to $59.90, or extra bookings at $4 per 100.
When to choose RazorBooking
Choose RazorBooking if you run a salon, barbershop, clinic or studio that is outgrowing SimplyBook's booking caps, and you want deposits, intake forms, no-show fees and WhatsApp reminders without counting features. Stay with SimplyBook.me if you take fewer than 50 bookings a month, or need one of its niche custom features.
Start your 7-day free trial. Take unlimited bookings from day one at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
2. Acuity Scheduling: best for detailed intake forms
Acuity Scheduling is a long-running appointment tool owned by Squarespace. Unlike SimplyBook, intake forms aren't a separate feature you have to spend an allowance on.
Key features
Intake forms. Collect custom client information before the appointment.
Payments and deposits. Take payment at booking with Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo.
Calendar sync. Connects with Google, Outlook, Apple and iCloud calendars.
AI Booking Assistant. On the Premium plan.
Pros
Custom intake forms
A choice of four payment processors
Apple and iCloud Calendar sync
Cons
No free plan, only a 7-day trial
The Starter plan has no text reminders and covers one calendar
"Powered by Acuity" removed on Premium only
Pricing
Starter is $16 per month on yearly billing ($20 monthly), Standard is $27 ($34) for up to 6 calendars and Premium is $49 ($61). See our Acuity Scheduling alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Acuity Scheduling
Choose Acuity if detailed intake forms matter most and you want Apple Calendar sync.
3. Setmore: best free plan for a small team
Setmore's free plan covers up to 4 users with unlimited appointments, so it has no booking cap like SimplyBook's free plan.
Key features
Unlimited appointments. On every plan.
Payments on Free. Square, Stripe and PayPal payments, even on the free plan.
Pro features. Deposits, SMS reminders with 500 credits a month, two-way calendar sync and branding removal.
Live Receptionist. A $99 per month add-on where real people answer your calls, US only.
Pros
Free for up to 4 users
No booking cap
Low per-user price on Pro
Cons
The free plan has no deposits, SMS or two-way calendar sync
Each staff calendar counts as a user on Pro
WhatsApp and AI features are not mentioned
Pricing
Free is $0 for up to 4 users. Pro is $5 per user per month on annual billing. See our Setmore alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Setmore
Choose Setmore if you want a free plan for a small team and can wait for deposits until you upgrade.
4. Square Appointments: best free plan with unlimited staff calendars
Square Appointments is the booking tool from Square, the payments company. Its free plan includes unlimited staff calendars, but no-show protection costs more.
Key features
Free plan. An online booking site, reminders and unlimited staff calendars.
Payments built in. Bookings and Square payments in one account.
Plus plan. Adds no-show fees, a cancellation policy, multi-staff booking and a waitlist.
Square Assistant. AI that helps write appointment messages.
Pros
Free plan with unlimited staff calendars
Payments and bookings in one place
Reminders on every plan
Cons
No-show fees start on Plus, at $49 per month per location
Sellers report Plus went from $29 to $49 in February 2026
Online payments cost 3.3% + 30¢ on the free plan
Pricing
Free is $0. Plus is $49 and Premium is $149 per month per location, with a 30-day trial. See our Square Appointments alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Square Appointments
Choose Square Appointments if you already take payments with Square and want a free plan for a larger team.
5. Vagaro: best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios
Vagaro is a business platform for the beauty, wellness and fitness industry, combining booking with payments, marketing and a consumer marketplace.
Key features
Payments built in. Every plan includes payments, and a free card reader comes with Vagaro Merchant Services.
Marketplace listing. A free listing on the Vagaro marketplace.
Reminders. Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders.
Vera AI. An AI assistant for marketing and client messages.
Pros
All-in-one for beauty, wellness and fitness
New clients from the marketplace
Unlimited reminders
Cons
No free plan, only a 30-day trial
The $23.99 price is an introductory rate for 6 months, then $30
Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven
Pricing
One location is $23.99 per month for the first 6 months, then $30. Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven. There is a 30-day free trial.
When to choose Vagaro
Choose Vagaro if you run a salon, spa or fitness studio and want booking, payments and marketplace exposure in one system.
6. Fresha: best for finding new clients through a marketplace
Fresha is booking software for beauty and wellness businesses, with a large consumer marketplace where clients search for and book local salons and spas.
Key features
Marketplace. Clients find you on Fresha. You pay a one-time 20% fee on new clients it sends, with a $6 minimum, and nothing on returning clients.
Deposits and no-show fees. Listed among its payment features.
Text reminders. 100 free texts per team member a month, then 2¢ each.
Payments. 2.79% + 20¢ online, through Fresha.
Pros
New clients from a large marketplace
No fee on returning clients
Free text allowance each month
Cons
No free plan, only a 7-day trial
A 20% fee on every new marketplace client
Priced per bookable team member
Pricing
Independent is $19.95 per month for one team member. Team is $14.95 per bookable team member per month. Larger businesses get custom pricing.
When to choose Fresha
Choose Fresha if you run a beauty or wellness business and want marketplace clients, and the 20% new-client fee is worth it to you.
7. Calendly: best for booking meetings and sales calls
Calendly is the best-known scheduling tool. It works well for meetings, but it is not built for a service menu, staff and no-show fees.
Key features
Fast setup. Connect a calendar, share a link and invitees pick a time.
Payments. Stripe and PayPal on paid plans.
Team scheduling. Round-robin on the Teams plan.
Pros
Simple and widely recognized
Free plan
Large integration list
Cons
One event type per link, with no service menu
No automated no-show or cancellation fee, by Calendly's own answer
Per-seat pricing grows with the team
Pricing
Free covers 1 event type and 1 calendar, with no payments. Standard is $10 per seat per month on yearly billing and Teams is $16. See the full list of Calendly alternatives.
When to choose Calendly
Choose Calendly if you mostly book meetings and sales calls.
SimplyBook.me pricing in 2027, compared with RazorBooking
SimplyBook.me has four public plans, each capped by monthly bookings, providers and custom features. SMS, WhatsApp and AI credits are bought separately. Here is what each one includes, next to RazorBooking.
Plan | Price (yearly / monthly) | Bookings a month | Staff | Custom features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
SimplyBook Free | $0 | 50 | 1 provider | 1 |
SimplyBook Basic | $11.90 / $13.90 | 100 | 5 providers | 3 |
SimplyBook Standard | $24.90 / $29.90 | 500 | 15 providers | 8 |
SimplyBook Premium | $49.90 / $59.90 | 2,000 | 30 providers | Unlimited, plus white label |
RazorBooking Solo | $15 / $19 | Unlimited | 3 team members | No allowance. Deposits, intake forms, coupons and no-show fees included. |
RazorBooking Pro | $29 / $39 | Unlimited | 5 team members | Everything in Solo, plus your own domain |
What a real business pays
Solo pro with fewer than 50 bookings a month and one feature: SimplyBook Free, $0. RazorBooking Solo, $15 per month on yearly billing. SimplyBook wins here.
Salon of 4 with around 400 bookings a month: SimplyBook Standard, $24.90. RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member, $24.
Team of 6 with up to 500 bookings a month: SimplyBook Standard is $24.90 and RazorBooking Pro with 1 extra team member is $38. Pro has no booking cap, includes 500 SMS and WhatsApp messages a month and gives you your own domain. On SimplyBook, 500 messages add $40, a custom domain is a $119 add-on, and the plan stops at 500 bookings.
Busy team with more than 500 bookings a month: SimplyBook Premium, $49.90, or Standard plus $4 for every extra 100 bookings. RazorBooking Pro, $29 for 5 team members or $38 for 6, with no limit.
Text or WhatsApp reminders on SimplyBook: $8 for every 100 messages, on any plan.
SimplyBook prices are from its pricing page in October 2026, in US dollars. A custom domain is a $119 add-on. SimplyBook also has an Enterprise plan with custom pricing.
Which SimplyBook.me alternative should you pick?
Run a salon, barbershop, clinic or studio that is outgrowing the caps? RazorBooking gives you unlimited bookings, deposits, intake forms, no-show fees and WhatsApp reminders from $15 a month, plus optional AI answering.
Need detailed intake forms and Apple Calendar sync? Acuity Scheduling.
Need a free plan for a small team? Setmore.
Already take payments with Square? Square Appointments.
Want an all-in-one beauty or fitness platform? Vagaro.
Want new clients from a marketplace? Fresha.
Mostly book meetings? Calendly.
Take fewer than 50 bookings a month? SimplyBook's free plan can still be the right fit.
Try RazorBooking free for 7 days. Take unlimited bookings from day one at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
How we compared these tools
We reviewed each vendor's public pricing and product pages in October 2026, and read SimplyBook.me reviews on Capterra and G2 and Reddit threads from SimplyBook users to find the complaints that come up most often. We picked the alternatives that appear most often on the top-ranking SimplyBook.me alternatives pages. We compared them on price, free plan, booking limits, deposits and no-show fees, reminders and AI. We did not run hands-on tests of the other tools. When a vendor's page did not mention a feature, we marked it as not stated instead of assuming it is missing.
We make RazorBooking, so we have a stake in the result. Plans and prices change, so check each vendor's site before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best SimplyBook.me alternatives?
It depends on your business. RazorBooking is the best fit for salons, clinics and studios that have outgrown SimplyBook's booking caps. Acuity Scheduling suits detailed intake forms, Setmore suits teams that want a free plan, and Fresha suits beauty businesses that want marketplace clients.
How much does SimplyBook.me cost?
Free is $0. Basic is $11.90 per month on yearly billing ($13.90 monthly), Standard is $24.90 ($29.90) and Premium is $49.90 ($59.90). SMS and WhatsApp credits cost extra.
Does SimplyBook.me have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan allows 50 bookings a month, 1 provider and 1 custom feature.
What are SimplyBook.me's booking limits?
50 bookings a month on Free, 100 on Basic, 500 on Standard and 2,000 on Premium. Extra bookings cost $4 per 100. RazorBooking has no booking limit on any plan.
Is SimplyBook.me or Setmore better?
Setmore's free plan covers up to 4 users with unlimited appointments, while SimplyBook's free plan stops at 50 bookings a month. SimplyBook has a much larger list of optional features.
Is SimplyBook.me or Acuity better?
SimplyBook.me has a free plan and lower starting prices. Acuity includes intake forms on every plan without a feature allowance, and offers Apple Calendar sync.
Sources
WRITTEN BY

RazorBooking team
We build RazorBooking and write about bookings, payments and running a service business.



