Square charges $49 a month per location before you can set no-show fees. Compare 7 Square Appointments alternatives for 2027 on price and features.
Square Appointments is free until you need it to protect your income. A cancellation policy and no-show fees start on Square Plus, at $49 a month per location. Sellers say Plus recently went up from $29 to $49. And because payments run through Square, a frozen account can freeze your bookings income too.
If that is why you are looking for a Square Appointments alternative, this guide is for you. Below we lay out where Square falls short, with sources, then compare seven alternatives: RazorBooking, Acuity Scheduling, Setmore, SimplyBook.me, Vagaro, GlossGenius and Calendly. Further down, we compare Square Appointments pricing plan by plan.
We make RazorBooking, so we list it first, with the same pros and cons as every other tool. Every fact about the other tools comes from the vendor's own pages, checked in October 2026.
The short list
Best Square Appointments alternative for salons, clinics and service businesses: RazorBooking
Best for intake forms and client sessions: Acuity Scheduling
Best free plan for a small team: Setmore
Best free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders: SimplyBook.me
Best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios: Vagaro
Best for beauty pros who want flat-rate payments: GlossGenius
Best for booking meetings and sales calls: Calendly
Why people leave Square Appointments: 6 problems users keep reporting
These are the limits and complaints that come up again and again, on Square's own pricing page, in its seller community and on Reddit.
1. The free plan doesn't protect you from no-shows
Square's free plan gives you an online booking site, reminders and unlimited staff calendars. But a cancellation policy and no-show fees start on Plus, at $49 a month per location. Online payments also cost more on the free plan: 3.3% + 30¢ per payment, against 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus. Free, in other words, costs you on every no-show and every online payment.
2. Prices went up, and sellers felt forced into it
In February 2026, a hair stylist posted in Square's own seller community that her plan was going from $29 to $49 a month, "a $240 per year annual price increase," and that it "will be forced on us as of February 21." She added that the $29 appointments plan "you can no longer get on its own." Stylists on Reddit's r/hairstylist describe the same jump and being moved to the more expensive plan.
3. Salon workflows feel bolted on
Salon owners on Reddit's r/SquarePOS_Users point out that no-show protection charges one flat fee, even when a stylist's services range widely in price. They also describe workarounds to take a deposit when staff book a client by hand, and no built-in way to add material or color charges to a booking.
4. Square can switch on booking buttons you didn't ask for
Business owners on r/smallbusiness warned that Square turned on "Book Now" buttons on their Google and Instagram profiles. For businesses that use another booking system and keep Square only for payments, that sent clients to the wrong calendar and caused double bookings.
5. Settings are scattered, and checkout forces an invoice
Massage therapists on r/massage describe booking settings spread across several overlapping dashboards, which makes simple changes slow. They also note that you can't mark an appointment as done without creating an invoice.
6. A frozen account can stop your income
Payments in Square Appointments run through Square. Fourlane's review of Square notes that a large or unusual transaction can put your funds on hold "until they decide you are not a risk," and cites more than 1,100 Better Business Bureau complaints about held funds. Small business owners on Reddit report the same thing: sudden holds and requests for paperwork just when cash is tight.
When Square Appointments is still the right tool
If you already sell in person with Square's hardware, Square Appointments keeps bookings and checkout in one place, and its free plan is a fair start for a solo professional with no staff. If that is you, staying can make sense. The alternatives below are for businesses that want no-show protection without paying $49 a month first.
Square Appointments alternatives compared: two quick tables
Best Square Appointments alternative by use case
Use case | Best tool | Why it fits |
|---|---|---|
Salons, clinics, barbers and studios with a team | RazorBooking | No-show and cancellation fees, deposits and WhatsApp reminders on the first paid plan, from $15 a month |
AI that answers calls and website visitors | RazorBooking | Optional AI phone receptionist and AI voice widget. GlossGenius sells an AI Reception add-on at $50 a month. |
Intake forms and client sessions | Acuity Scheduling | Custom intake forms, plus deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo |
A free plan for a small team | Setmore | Free for up to 4 users with unlimited appointments and a custom cancellation policy |
A free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders | SimplyBook.me | Reminders by SMS, email and WhatsApp, and a free plan with 50 bookings |
All-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios | Vagaro | Booking, payments, marketing and a free listing on the Vagaro marketplace |
Beauty pros who want one flat payment rate | GlossGenius | A flat 2.6% processing rate with no card-on-file or manual-entry fees |
Meetings and sales calls | Calendly | Fast setup and a large integration list, but one event type per link |
You already sell in person with Square hardware | Stay with Square | Bookings and in-person checkout in one system |
Feature-by-feature comparison
Feature | RazorBooking | Acuity Scheduling | Setmore | SimplyBook.me | Vagaro | GlossGenius | Calendly | Square Appointments (for reference) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Best for | Service businesses with a team | Client sessions with intake forms | Small teams on a budget | Service-based businesses | Salons, spas and fitness studios | Beauty and wellness pros | Meetings and sales calls | Businesses already on Square POS |
Free plan | ✗ No. 7-day free trial, no credit card needed. | ✗ No, 7-day trial | ✓ Yes, up to 4 users | ✓ Yes, 50 bookings | ✗ No, 30-day trial | ✗ No, 14-day trial | ✓ Yes, 1 event type, no payments | ✓ Yes, without no-show fees or a cancellation policy |
Paid plans start at | $15 per month billed yearly, $19 monthly (Solo, 3 team members) | $16 per month billed yearly | $5 per user per month billed yearly | $11.90 per month billed yearly | $23.99 per month for the first 6 months ($30 list) | $24 per month billed yearly, $28 monthly | $10 per seat per month billed yearly | $49 per month per location (Plus) |
No-show and cancellation fees | ✓ Yes, plus deposits, from Solo | Deposits. No-show fee not stated. | Cancellation policy on Free. Deposits on Pro. | Deposits. No-show fee not stated. | Not stated on the pricing page | ✓ Deposit, cancellation and no-show policies | ✗ No automated no-show fee | On Plus ($49) and Premium only |
Payment fees | No RazorBooking commission. Stripe or PayPal fees apply. | Your processor's fees (Stripe, Square, PayPal, Venmo) | Your processor's fees (Square, Stripe, PayPal) | Your processor's fees | Vagaro Merchant Services | Flat 2.6% | Stripe or PayPal fees | Online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free, 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus. Card on file 3.5% + 15¢. |
Reminders | ✓ WhatsApp, SMS and email from Solo | Email. Text reminders on Standard and Premium. | 1 email reminder on Free. SMS on Pro. | ✓ SMS, email and WhatsApp | Unlimited notifications and reminders | SMS reminders and confirmations | Email and text on paid plans | Appointment reminders on every plan |
AI | ✓ Optional AI voice widget and AI phone receptionist | AI Booking Assistant on Premium | ✗ None. Human Live Receptionist at $99 per month (US only). | Ask Simply chat, plus an AI Voice Booking add-on | Vera AI for marketing and client messages | AI Reception add-on for calls and texts, $50 per month | Notetaker and Callie, for meeting notes and email scheduling | Square Assistant writes appointment messages |
Booking page | ✓ Branded page. Your own domain on Pro and Growth. | "Powered by Acuity" removed on Premium only | Setmore branding on Free, removed on Pro | Templates and a website builder | Booking plus a Vagaro marketplace listing | Website and online booking | Customizable page | Free online booking site |
"Not stated" means the vendor's pricing page does not mention it, not that the feature is missing. Plans and prices change, so confirm on each site.
The 7 best Square Appointments alternatives, reviewed
1. RazorBooking: best for service businesses that want no-show protection without paying $49 first
RazorBooking is a booking and appointment platform for businesses that sell services, such as salons, barbers, clinics and studios. Where Square holds no-show fees back for its $49 Plus plan, RazorBooking includes no-show and cancellation fees, deposits and WhatsApp reminders on its $15 Solo plan.

Key features
No-show and cancellation fees from Solo. Set your policy and charge clients who don't show up or cancel late.
Deposits and online payments. Take a deposit or full payment at booking with Stripe, PayPal and other gateways. RazorBooking charges no commission.
Team members included. 3 on Solo, 5 on Pro and 10 on Growth, with a service menu and clients choosing who they see.
WhatsApp, SMS and email reminders from Solo. Clients get confirmations and reminders in the app they already read.
Intake forms and coupon codes. Ask your own questions at booking and run promotions.
Your payments stay with your own processor. You connect your own Stripe or PayPal account.
AI phone receptionist and voice widget (optional). AI that answers calls and website visitors, checks availability and books the client.

Pros
No-show and cancellation fees on the first paid plan
Deposits, WhatsApp reminders and intake forms included
No commission on payments, and your own Stripe or PayPal account
Choose a plan with AI or without it
Cons
A 7-day free trial instead of a free plan, with no credit card needed
No Apple or iCloud Calendar sync; Google and Outlook calendars sync both ways
Pricing
Solo is $15 per month on yearly billing ($19 monthly) and includes 3 team members, no-show and cancellation fees, deposits, online payments and WhatsApp reminders. Pro is $29 per month on yearly billing ($39 monthly), includes 5 team members and adds your own domain. Growth is $49 per month on yearly billing ($59 monthly) and includes 10 team members. Extra team members are $9 a month billed yearly ($10 monthly). Every plan works without AI. If you want AI answering, turn it on for any plan: Solo with AI is $25 a month billed yearly ($29 monthly), Pro $49 ($59) and Growth $79 ($99), with 50, 150 or 300 AI minutes a month. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.
RazorBooking vs Square Appointments
To charge no-show fees on Square, a salon of four needs Plus at $49 a month per location. On RazorBooking, the same salon uses Solo with 1 extra team member.
Competitor plan | RazorBooking plan |
|---|---|
Square Plus: $49 per month per location, to unlock no-show fees and a cancellation policy | RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member: $24–$29 per month for 4 team members, with no-show fees, deposits and WhatsApp reminders |
You save $20 to $25 every month, or $240 to $300 a year.
$24 is RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member on yearly billing ($15 + $9), and $29 on monthly billing ($19 + $10). Square Plus is $49 per month per location. Payment processing fees apply on top for both, through Square on Square, and through your own Stripe or PayPal account on RazorBooking.
When to choose RazorBooking
Choose RazorBooking if you run a salon, barbershop, clinic or studio with a team, and you want no-show fees, deposits and WhatsApp reminders without paying $49 a month. Stay with Square if you sell in person with Square's hardware and want bookings in the same system.
Start your 7-day free trial. Set your no-show policy and share your booking page today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
2. Acuity Scheduling: best for intake forms and client sessions
Acuity Scheduling is a long-running appointment tool for people who sell sessions and services. It works with several payment processors, including Square.
Key features
Payments and deposits. Take payment at booking with Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo.
Intake forms. Collect custom client information before the appointment.
Calendar sync. Connects with Google, Apple and iCloud calendars.
Pros
Apple and iCloud Calendar sync
Custom intake forms
Works with Square, Stripe, PayPal and Venmo
Cons
No free plan, only a 7-day trial
The Starter plan has no text reminders and covers one calendar
"Powered by Acuity" removed on Premium only
Pricing
Starter is $16 per month on yearly billing ($20 monthly), Standard is $27 ($34) and Premium is $49 ($61). See our Acuity Scheduling alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Acuity Scheduling
Choose Acuity if you need detailed intake forms and want to keep your choice of payment processor.
3. Setmore: best free plan for a small team
Setmore's free plan covers up to 4 users with unlimited appointments, and includes a custom cancellation policy, which Square holds back for Plus.
Key features
Unlimited appointments. On every plan.
Payments on Free. Square, Stripe and PayPal payments, even on the free plan.
Pro features. Deposits, SMS reminders with 500 credits a month, two-way calendar sync and branding removal.
Live Receptionist. A $99 per month add-on where real people answer your calls, US only.
Pros
Free for up to 4 users
Works with Square payments
Low per-user price on Pro
Cons
The free plan has no deposits, SMS or two-way calendar sync
Each staff calendar counts as a user on Pro
WhatsApp and AI features are not mentioned
Pricing
Free is $0 for up to 4 users. Pro is $5 per user per month on annual billing. See our Setmore alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Setmore
Choose Setmore if you want a free plan for a small team and can wait for deposits until you upgrade.
4. SimplyBook.me: best free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders
SimplyBook.me is a booking system for service-based businesses, with a free plan that can send text and WhatsApp reminders.
Key features
Reminders on three channels. SMS, email and WhatsApp notifications.
Deposits and payments. Online payments and deposits, plus Tap to Pay and QR codes in person.
Branded booking page. Templates, booking widgets and a website builder.
AI Voice Booking. A paid add-on, priced at $8 for 100 credits.
Pros
Free plan with 50 bookings
SMS, email and WhatsApp reminders
In-person payments too
Cons
Plans are capped by bookings and providers
AI Voice Booking is billed in credits on top of the plan
Several useful features are add-ons
Pricing
Free is $0 with 50 bookings. Basic is $11.90 per month on yearly billing ($13.90 monthly), Standard is $24.90 ($29.90) and Premium is $49.90 ($59.90).
When to choose SimplyBook.me
Choose SimplyBook.me if you want a free plan with text and WhatsApp reminders, and your booking volume fits the plan limits.
5. Vagaro: best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios
Vagaro is a business platform for the beauty, wellness and fitness industry, combining booking with payments, marketing and a consumer marketplace.
Key features
Payments built in. Every plan includes payments, and a free card reader comes with Vagaro Merchant Services.
Marketplace listing. A free listing on the Vagaro marketplace.
Reminders. Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders.
Vera AI. An AI assistant for marketing and client messages.
Pros
All-in-one for beauty, wellness and fitness
New clients from the marketplace
Card reader with its merchant services
Cons
No free plan, only a 30-day trial
The $23.99 price is an introductory rate for 6 months, then $30
Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven
Pricing
One location is $23.99 per month for the first 6 months, then $30. Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven. There is a 30-day free trial.
When to choose Vagaro
Choose Vagaro if you run a salon, spa or fitness studio and want booking, payments and marketplace exposure in one system.
6. GlossGenius: best for beauty pros who want flat-rate payments
GlossGenius is booking and business software built for beauty and wellness professionals. Its standout is a single flat payment rate.
Key features
Flat 2.6% processing. No extra fees for Tap to Pay, card on file or manual entry.
Booking policies. Deposit, cancellation, no-show and card-on-file policies.
Website and booking. A website with 24/7 online booking.
Marketing. Text marketing with 500 credits, or 2,500 on Platinum.
AI Reception. An add-on that answers calls and texts, at $50 a month.
Pros
One flat payment rate
Built for beauty and wellness
Free data transfer from your old system
Cons
No free plan, only a 14-day trial
Gold, for up to 9 staff, is $48 to $56 a month
AI Reception costs $50 a month on top of the plan
Pricing
Standard is $24 per month on yearly billing ($28 monthly), Gold is $48 ($56) for up to 9 staff, and Platinum is $148 ($168) for 10 or more. There is a 14-day free trial.
When to choose GlossGenius
Choose GlossGenius if you are a beauty or wellness professional who wants simple, flat-rate payments and a polished website.
7. Calendly: best for booking meetings and sales calls
Calendly is the best-known scheduling tool. It works well for meetings, but it is not built for services, staff and no-show fees.
Key features
Fast setup. Connect a calendar, share a link and invitees pick a time.
Payments. Stripe and PayPal on paid plans.
Team scheduling. Round-robin on the Teams plan.
Pros
Simple and widely recognized
Free plan
Large integration list
Cons
One event type per link, with no service menu
No automated no-show or cancellation fee, by Calendly's own answer
Per-seat pricing grows with the team
Pricing
Free covers 1 event type and 1 calendar, with no payments. Standard is $10 per seat per month on yearly billing and Teams is $16. See the full list of Calendly alternatives.
When to choose Calendly
Choose Calendly if you mostly book meetings and sales calls.
Square Appointments pricing in 2027, compared with RazorBooking
Square Appointments has three plans, priced per location, plus card processing fees on every payment. Here is what each one includes, next to RazorBooking.
Plan | Monthly price | No-show fees | Online payment fee | Good to know |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Square Free | $0 | ✗ No | 3.3% + 30¢ | Booking site, reminders, unlimited staff calendars |
Square Plus | $49 per location | ✓ Yes | 2.9% + 30¢ | Adds cancellation policy, multi-staff booking and waitlist. 30-day trial. |
Square Premium | $149 per location | ✓ Yes | 2.9% + 30¢ | Adds resource management, service cost tracking and a future bookings report |
RazorBooking Solo | $15 billed yearly, $19 monthly | ✓ Yes | Your Stripe or PayPal rate. No RazorBooking commission. | 3 team members, deposits, WhatsApp reminders, intake forms |
RazorBooking Pro | $29 billed yearly, $39 monthly | ✓ Yes | Your Stripe or PayPal rate. No RazorBooking commission. | 5 team members, plus your own domain |
What a real business pays
Solo stylist who needs no-show fees: Square Plus, $49 per month. RazorBooking Solo, $15 on yearly billing.
Salon of 4: Square Plus, $49. RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member, $24.
Salon of 6: Square Plus, $49. RazorBooking Pro with 1 extra team member, $38.
Card on file or manual entry on Square: 3.5% + 15¢ on every plan.
Square prices and rates are from its Square Appointments pricing page in October 2026. Plus and Premium include a 30-day free trial.
Which Square Appointments alternative should you pick?
Run a salon, barbershop, clinic or studio with a team? RazorBooking gives you no-show fees, deposits and WhatsApp reminders from $15 a month, plus optional AI answering.
Need detailed intake forms? Acuity Scheduling.
Need a free plan for a small team? Setmore.
Need a free plan that can send text reminders? SimplyBook.me.
Want an all-in-one beauty or fitness platform with a marketplace? Vagaro.
A beauty pro who wants one flat payment rate? GlossGenius.
Mostly book meetings? Calendly.
Already selling in person with Square hardware? Square Appointments can still be the right fit.
Try RazorBooking free for 7 days. Set your no-show policy and turn on deposits today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
How we compared these tools
We reviewed each vendor's public pricing and product pages in October 2026, and read Square's seller community, Reddit threads from Square Appointments users and published Square reviews to find the complaints that come up most often. We picked the alternatives that appear most often on the top-ranking Square Appointments alternatives pages. We compared them on price, free plan, no-show protection, payment fees, reminders and AI. We did not run hands-on tests of the other tools. When a vendor's page did not mention a feature, we marked it as not stated instead of assuming it is missing.
We make RazorBooking, so we have a stake in the result. Plans and prices change, so check each vendor's site before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Square Appointments alternative?
It depends on your business. RazorBooking is the best fit for salons, barbers, clinics and studios that want no-show fees and deposits on a low plan. Acuity Scheduling suits intake forms, Setmore suits teams that want a free plan, and GlossGenius suits beauty pros who want flat-rate payments.
How much does Square Appointments cost?
Square Appointments has a free plan. Plus is $49 per month per location and Premium is $149 per month per location. Card processing fees apply on every plan.
Does Square Appointments charge no-show fees?
Only on Plus and Premium. The free plan cannot charge no-show fees or enforce a cancellation policy. RazorBooking includes no-show and cancellation fees on its $15 Solo plan.
What are Square Appointments' card processing fees?
In person, 2.6% + 15¢ on Free, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus and 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium. Online, 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium. Card on file or manual entry is 3.5% + 15¢ on every plan.
Is Square Appointments or Acuity better?
Square Appointments is better if you already sell in person with Square. Acuity is better for detailed intake forms, and works with several payment processors, including Square.
Is Square Appointments or Setmore better?
Setmore's free plan covers 4 users and includes a cancellation policy, and it works with Square, Stripe and PayPal. Square Appointments has unlimited staff calendars on its free plan and suits businesses already on Square POS.
Sources
WRITTEN BY

RazorBooking team
We build RazorBooking and write about bookings, payments and running a service business.



