All posts

/

Comparisons

8 Best Acuity Scheduling Alternatives in 2027: Where Acuity Falls Short and What to Use Instead

·

18 min read

8 Acuity Scheduling alternatives with text and WhatsApp reminders: RazorBooking reminder settings

Acuity has no free plan and saves text reminders and branding removal for higher plans. Compare 8 Acuity Scheduling alternatives for 2027.

Acuity Scheduling has no free plan. Its cheapest plan sends no text reminders and covers one calendar. Removing the "Powered by Acuity" badge takes the top plan. And since Squarespace took it over, reviewers keep describing the same things: surprise charges, slow support and new glitches. Acuity's Trustpilot score is 3.6, and 18% of its reviews give one star.

If that is why you are looking for Acuity Scheduling alternatives, this guide is for you. Below we lay out where Acuity falls short, with sources, then compare eight alternatives: RazorBooking, Vagaro, Setmore, YouCanBookMe, Cal.com, SimplyBook.me, TidyCal and Calendly. Further down, we compare Acuity's pricing plan by plan.

We make RazorBooking, so we list it first, with the same pros and cons as every other tool, and we show where Acuity is the better pick. Every fact about the other tools comes from the vendor's own pages, checked in October 2026.

The short list

  • Best Acuity alternative for salons, clinics and service businesses with a team: RazorBooking

  • Best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios: Vagaro

  • Best free plan for a small team: Setmore

  • Best for simple branded booking pages: YouCanBookMe

  • Best open source and self-hosted option: Cal.com

  • Best free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders: SimplyBook.me

  • Best if you want to pay once: TidyCal

  • Best for booking meetings and sales calls: Calendly

Why people leave Acuity Scheduling: 6 problems users keep reporting

These are the limits and complaints that come up again and again, on Acuity's own pricing page and in user reviews.

1. No free plan, and the cheapest plan is thin

Acuity offers a 7-day trial, then you pay. Its Starter plan, at $16 a month on yearly billing or $20 monthly, covers one calendar and leaves out text reminders and the waitlist. For a business that needs to cut no-shows, that means upgrading on day one.

2. You pay by calendar, and the best features sit on the top plan

Standard covers up to 6 calendars and Premium up to 36. A seventh staff member pushes you to Premium at $49 a month on yearly billing or $61 monthly. Removing Acuity's branding, the AI Booking Assistant and custom CSS are Premium only too.

3. Billing and support complaints are common

Acuity scores 3.6 on Trustpilot from 676 reviews, with 18% giving one star. In September 2026 one reviewer wrote, "you guys KEEP taking unauthorized money from my account," and another, "terrible support, no resolution a week later." Small business owners on Reddit describe trouble stopping charges after they tried to cancel, and Acuity's support is by chat and email, with no phone line mentioned on its pricing page.

4. It has become glitchy since the Squarespace move

One Trustpilot reviewer wrote that Acuity used to be excellent and is now glitchy. Others report clients being shown the wrong time zone, and being locked out "after migrating to Square Space." On G2, users write that "integrations tend to break from time to time" and that "the Acuity website crashes if you try to export more than a handful of appointments."

5. Recurring appointments and reminders frustrate users

A Trustpilot reviewer said clients "never know when their weekly appointments are because the sessions don't go to their calendars." Another wrote, "Acuity is making me choose only one reminder." On Reddit's r/squarespace, users list problems with recurring appointments and no way to cancel appointments in bulk. A G2 reviewer adds that clients with the same name get merged into one record.

6. Rigid time slots, and no WhatsApp or phone AI

On r/MassageTherapists, therapists describe how mixing 60, 75 and 90-minute services with clean-up buffers leaves awkward gaps of dead time in the day. Acuity's pricing page does not mention WhatsApp reminders, and its AI Booking Assistant is Premium only. Nothing answers your phone when you are with a client.

When Acuity is still the right tool

Acuity is a mature product with a long feature list. It scores 4.6 on G2 from 410 reviews and connects with Apple Calendar. If those matter most, Acuity can still be the better fit. For a direct side-by-side, see RazorBooking vs Acuity Scheduling.

Acuity Scheduling alternatives compared: two quick tables

Best Acuity alternative by use case

Use case

Best tool

Why it fits

Salons, clinics and studios with a team

RazorBooking

Team members included in the plan, deposits, intake forms, coupons and WhatsApp reminders from the first paid plan

AI that answers calls and website visitors

RazorBooking

Optional AI phone receptionist and AI voice widget. SimplyBook.me has an AI Voice Booking add-on.

All-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios

Vagaro

Booking, payments, marketing and a free listing on the Vagaro marketplace

A free plan for a small team

Setmore

Free for up to 4 users with unlimited appointments

Simple branded booking pages for one person

YouCanBookMe

Custom branding, payments, discount codes and a free plan

Open source and self-hosting

Cal.com

Self-hosted option, API and a free plan for one user

A free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders

SimplyBook.me

Reminders by SMS, email and WhatsApp, and a free plan with 50 bookings

Paying once instead of monthly

TidyCal

A $29 lifetime deal, or Pro at $99 a year

Meetings and sales calls

Calendly

Fast setup and a large integration list, but one event type per link

You need Apple or iCloud Calendar sync

Stay with Acuity

Acuity connects with Apple and iCloud calendars

Feature-by-feature comparison

Feature

RazorBooking

Vagaro

Setmore

YouCanBookMe

Cal.com

SimplyBook.me

TidyCal

Calendly

Acuity (for reference)

Best for

Service businesses with a team

Salons, spas and fitness studios

Small teams on a budget

Solo pros and small businesses

Developers and technical teams

Service-based businesses

Solo users who want to pay once

Meetings and sales calls

Client sessions with intake forms

Free plan

✗ No. 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

✗ No, 30-day trial

✓ Yes, up to 4 users

✓ Yes, with a "Powered for free" button

✓ Yes, 1 user

✓ Yes, 50 bookings

✓ Yes, 1 calendar, 1% fee on Stripe payments

✓ Yes, 1 event type, no payments

✗ No, 7-day trial

Paid plans start at

$15 per month billed yearly, $19 monthly (Solo, 3 team members)

$23.99 per month for the first 6 months ($30 list)

$5 per user per month billed yearly

About $9 per month †

$12 per user per month billed yearly

$11.90 per month billed yearly

$29 once, or $99 a year for Pro

$10 per seat per month billed yearly

$16 per month billed yearly, $20 monthly (1 calendar)

Payments and deposits

✓ Deposits and online payments from Solo. No commission.

✓ Payments built in

Payments on Free. Deposits on Pro.

✓ Cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay

✓ Stripe payments on every plan

✓ Deposits and online payments

✓ Stripe and PayPal on every plan

Payment at booking on paid plans

✓ Stripe, Square, PayPal and Venmo on every plan

Reminders

✓ WhatsApp, SMS and email from Solo

Unlimited notifications and reminders

1 email reminder on Free. SMS on Pro.

Email and SMS (SMS fees apply)

Email and text

✓ SMS, email and WhatsApp

SMS on Agency (10 a month) and Pro (US and Canada)

Email and text on paid plans

Email. Text reminders on Standard and Premium only. ✗ No WhatsApp stated.

AI booking

✓ Optional AI voice widget and AI phone receptionist

✓ Vera AI for marketing and client messages

✗ None. Human Live Receptionist at $99 per month (US only).

✗ None stated

✓ Cal.ai AI phone agent

✓ Ask Simply chat, plus an AI Voice Booking add-on

AI assistant on lifetime and Pro plans

Notetaker and Callie, for meeting notes and email scheduling

AI Booking Assistant on Premium only

Branding

Branded page. Your own domain and no "Powered by RazorBooking" line on Pro and Growth.

Booking plus a Vagaro marketplace listing

Setmore branding on Free, removed on Pro

"Powered for free" button on Free

Brand customization

Templates and a website builder

No branding and a custom domain on Pro

Customizable page

"Powered by Acuity" removed on Premium only

"Not stated" means the vendor's pricing page does not mention it, not that the feature is missing. † Taken from YouCanBookMe's comparison page, since its pricing page did not show a price when we checked. Plans and prices change, so confirm on each site.

The 8 best Acuity Scheduling alternatives, reviewed

1. RazorBooking: best for service businesses with a team that want text reminders and deposits without upgrading

RazorBooking is a booking and appointment platform for businesses that sell services, such as salons, clinics, studios and wellness providers. Where Acuity's cheapest plan sends no text reminders and covers one calendar, RazorBooking's Solo plan includes 3 team members, WhatsApp and SMS reminders, deposits and intake forms.

Booking a service with a chosen team member in RazorBooking

Key features

  1. Team members included. 3 on Solo, 5 on Pro and 10 on Growth, not charged per calendar.

  2. Service menu and staff choice. List services with prices, and let clients pick who they see or take the first available person.

  3. Deposits and online payments from Solo. Take a deposit or full payment at booking with Stripe, PayPal and other gateways. RazorBooking charges no commission.

  4. Intake forms. Ask your own custom questions when the client books.

  5. Coupon codes. Run discounts and promotions on your booking page.

  6. WhatsApp, SMS and email reminders from Solo. Clients get confirmations and reminders in the app they already read.

  7. AI phone receptionist and voice widget (optional). AI that answers calls and website visitors, checks availability and books the client.

Reminder settings for email, SMS and WhatsApp in RazorBooking

Pros

  • Text and WhatsApp reminders and deposits on the first paid plan

  • Team members included, not priced per calendar

  • Intake forms and coupon codes

  • Choose a plan with AI or without it

Cons

  • A 7-day free trial instead of a free plan, with no credit card needed

  • No Apple or iCloud Calendar sync; Google and Outlook calendars sync both ways

Pricing

Solo is $15 per month on yearly billing ($19 monthly) and includes 3 team members, deposits, online payments, intake forms and WhatsApp reminders. Pro is $29 per month on yearly billing ($39 monthly), includes 5 team members and adds your own domain. Growth is $49 per month on yearly billing ($59 monthly) and includes 10 team members. Extra team members are $9 a month billed yearly ($10 monthly). Every plan works without AI. If you want AI answering, choose the plan with AI: $25, $49 or $79 a month billed yearly ($29, $59 or $99 monthly), with 50, 150 or 300 AI minutes a month. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.

RazorBooking vs Acuity

A team of four on Acuity needs the Standard plan, because Starter covers only one calendar. RazorBooking Solo includes three and adds the fourth for $9 a month billed yearly, with text and WhatsApp reminders.

Competitor plan

RazorBooking plan

Acuity Standard: $27–$34 per month for a team of 4, with Acuity's branding on your page

RazorBooking Solo: $24–$29 per month for a team of 4 (3 included plus 1 extra team member), with deposits and WhatsApp reminders

That's $3 to $5 less a month, with WhatsApp reminders included. You can also add the AI receptionist, while Acuity's AI Booking Assistant starts on Premium at $49.

Compare like with like: $27 against $24 is yearly billing, and $34 against $29 is monthly billing. For a team of 6, Acuity Standard ($27 yearly, $34 monthly) costs less than RazorBooking Pro ($38, $49). Pro includes WhatsApp reminders, your own domain and no "Powered by RazorBooking" line, while Acuity keeps its branding until Premium, at $49.

When to choose RazorBooking

Choose RazorBooking if you run a salon, clinic, studio or similar business with a small team, and you want text and WhatsApp reminders, deposits and intake forms without paying for a higher plan. Stay with Acuity if you need Apple or iCloud Calendar sync.

Start your 7-day free trial. Add your team and turn on reminders today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.

2. Vagaro: best all-in-one for salons, spas and fitness studios

Vagaro is a business platform for the beauty, wellness and fitness industry. It combines booking with payments, marketing and a consumer marketplace where clients can find and book local businesses.

Key features

  1. Payments built in. Every plan includes payments, and a free card reader comes with Vagaro Merchant Services.

  2. Marketplace listing. A free listing on the Vagaro marketplace on every plan.

  3. Reminders. Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders, plus 1,000 free marketing emails a month.

  4. Vera AI. An AI assistant that helps with marketing, fills empty slots and handles client messages.

  5. Staff calendars. Extra bookable calendars are $10 each up to seven. Employees after that cost nothing extra.

Pros

  • All-in-one for beauty, wellness and fitness

  • New clients from the marketplace

  • AI assistant for marketing and messages

Cons

  • No free plan, only a 30-day trial

  • The $23.99 price is an introductory rate for the first 6 months, then $30

  • Your listing sits in a marketplace next to other local businesses

Pricing

One location is $23.99 per month for the first 6 months, then $30. Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven. There is a 30-day free trial.

When to choose Vagaro

Choose Vagaro if you run a salon, spa or fitness studio and want booking, payments and marketplace exposure in one system.

3. Setmore: best free plan for a small team

Setmore gives you what Acuity doesn't: a free plan. It covers up to 4 users with unlimited appointments.

Key features

  1. Unlimited appointments. On every plan.

  2. Staff selection. A team booking page lets clients choose a staff member.

  3. Payments on Free. Square, Stripe and PayPal payments, even on the free plan.

  4. Pro features. Deposits, SMS reminders with 500 credits a month, two-way calendar sync and branding removal.

  5. Live Receptionist. A $99 per month add-on where real people answer your calls, US only.

Pros

  • Free for up to 4 users

  • Low per-user price on Pro

  • Unlimited appointments on every plan

Cons

  • The free plan has no deposits, SMS or two-way calendar sync

  • Each staff calendar counts as a user on Pro

  • WhatsApp and AI features are not mentioned

Pricing

Free is $0 for up to 4 users. Pro is $5 per user per month on annual billing, with a 30-day trial. See our Setmore alternatives guide for more.

When to choose Setmore

Choose Setmore if you want a free plan for a small team and can wait to add deposits until you upgrade.

4. YouCanBookMe: best for simple branded booking pages

YouCanBookMe is a scheduling tool for small businesses and client-facing professionals. It keeps booking simple and, unlike Acuity, has a free plan.

Key features

  1. Branded booking pages. Add your logo, colors, background image and footer.

  2. Payments at booking. Cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, with discount codes.

  3. SMS confirmations and reminders. Automatic messages before and after the booking. SMS carries extra fees.

  4. Integrations. Google Calendar, Outlook, Zoom, Stripe and HubSpot, plus 7,000+ tools through Zapier.

Pros

  • Free plan

  • Discount codes

  • Clean branding options

Cons

  • The free plan shows a "Powered for free" button

  • No AI features are mentioned

  • SMS and Stripe processing cost extra

Pricing

Free covers 1 calendar and 1 booking page. Paid plans start at about $9 per month according to YouCanBookMe's comparison page. There is a 14-day trial.

When to choose YouCanBookMe

Choose YouCanBookMe if you are a solo professional who wants a clean branded page and payments.

5. Cal.com: best open source and self-hosted option

Cal.com is an open source scheduling platform for technical users and teams that want control. You can self-host it, build on its API, and use its AI phone agent, Cal.ai.

Key features

  1. Free plan with payments. One user, unlimited event types and calendars, and Stripe payments.

  2. Team scheduling. Round-robin, routing forms and analytics on the Teams plan.

  3. Self-hosting and API. Run it yourself with Docker, or build on the API.

  4. Cal.ai. An AI phone agent for scheduling calls.

Pros

  • Free plan with Stripe payments

  • Open source and self-hosted option

  • AI phone agent

Cons

  • Aimed at technical users

  • No service menu or deposits are described

  • WhatsApp is not mentioned

Pricing

Free is $0 for one user. Teams is $12 per user per month on yearly billing, and Organizations is $28.

When to choose Cal.com

Choose Cal.com if you have developers, want to self-host, or need an open, flexible scheduling layer.

6. SimplyBook.me: best free plan with SMS and WhatsApp reminders

SimplyBook.me is a booking system for service-based businesses. Its free plan can send text and WhatsApp reminders, which Acuity's Starter plan cannot.

Key features

  1. Reminders on three channels. SMS, email and WhatsApp notifications.

  2. Deposits and payments. Online payments and deposits, plus Tap to Pay and QR codes in person.

  3. Branded booking page. Templates, booking widgets and a website builder.

  4. AI Voice Booking. A paid add-on, priced at $8 for 100 credits.

Pros

  • Free plan with 50 bookings

  • SMS, email and WhatsApp reminders

  • Deposits and a website builder

Cons

  • Plans are capped by bookings and providers

  • AI Voice Booking is billed in credits on top of the plan

  • Several useful features are add-ons

Pricing

Free is $0 with 50 bookings. Basic is $11.90 per month on yearly billing ($13.90 monthly), Standard is $24.90 ($29.90) and Premium is $49.90 ($59.90).

When to choose SimplyBook.me

Choose SimplyBook.me if you want a free plan with text and WhatsApp reminders, and your booking volume fits the plan limits.

7. TidyCal: best if you want to pay once

TidyCal is a simple booking tool from AppSumo. Its main draw is price: a free plan, a one-time lifetime deal, or a low yearly Pro plan.

Key features

  1. Free plan. Unlimited bookings and booking types, paid bookings and 1 calendar.

  2. Lifetime deals. Individual at $29 once adds an AI assistant, group bookings and 10 calendars. Agency at $79 once adds team features.

  3. Payments. Stripe and PayPal on every plan, with a 1% platform fee on Stripe below Pro.

  4. Pro. No branding, a custom domain and unlimited SMS for US and Canada numbers.

Pros

  • Very low cost

  • Pay once, no monthly bill

  • Free plan with paid bookings

Cons

  • A 1% platform fee on Stripe payments below Pro

  • SMS only for US and Canada numbers

  • Built for simple booking, not a service menu with staff

Pricing

Free is $0. Individual Lifetime is $29 once and Agency Lifetime is $79 once. Pro is $12 per month or $99 per year.

When to choose TidyCal

Choose TidyCal if you are a solo professional with simple needs and you would rather pay once than every month.

8. Calendly: best for booking meetings and sales calls

Calendly is the best-known scheduling tool. It works well when people book a meeting with you, but it is built around meetings, not services and staff.

Key features

  1. Fast setup. Connect a calendar, share a link and invitees pick a time.

  2. Payments. Stripe and PayPal on paid plans.

  3. Team scheduling. Round-robin on the Teams plan.

  4. AI add-ons. Notetaker and Callie, for meeting notes and email scheduling.

Pros

  • Simple and widely recognized

  • Free plan

  • Large integration list

Cons

  • One event type per link, with no service menu

  • No automated no-show or cancellation fee, by Calendly's own answer

  • Per-seat pricing grows with the team

Pricing

Free covers 1 event type and 1 calendar, with no payments. Standard is $10 per seat per month on yearly billing and Teams is $16.

When to choose Calendly

Choose Calendly if you mostly book meetings and sales calls. See the full list of Calendly alternatives.

Acuity Scheduling pricing in 2027, compared with RazorBooking

Acuity has three plans, priced by the number of calendars. There is no free plan, only a 7-day trial. Here is what each one includes, next to RazorBooking.

Plan

Price (yearly / monthly)

Calendars or team

Text reminders

Good to know

Acuity Starter

$16 / $20

1 calendar

✗ No

Intake forms and payments. No waitlist.

Acuity Standard

$27 / $34

Up to 6 calendars

✓ Yes

Adds text reminders and a waitlist. Acuity branding stays.

Acuity Premium

$49 / $61

Up to 36 calendars

✓ Yes

Adds branding removal, the AI Booking Assistant and custom CSS and API.

RazorBooking Solo

$15 / $19

3 team members, up to 4

✓ Yes, plus WhatsApp

Deposits, payments, intake forms, coupons, unlimited bookings.

RazorBooking Pro

$29 / $39

5 team members, up to 10

✓ Yes, plus WhatsApp

Everything in Solo, plus your own domain and no "Powered by RazorBooking" line

RazorBooking Growth

$49 / $59

10 team members, up to 20

✓ Yes, plus WhatsApp

Everything in Pro, plus roles and permissions, webhooks and custom CSS

What a real team pays

  • One person who needs text reminders: Acuity Standard, $27 per month on yearly billing. RazorBooking Solo, $15.

  • Team of 4: Acuity Standard, $27. RazorBooking Solo, $24 (3 included plus 1 extra team member), with WhatsApp reminders included.

  • Team of 6: RazorBooking Pro is $38 (5 included plus 1 extra team member), with WhatsApp reminders and your own domain without RazorBooking branding. Acuity Standard is $27 and keeps Acuity's branding. Removing it, and getting the AI Booking Assistant, takes Premium at $49.

  • Team of 7 or more, or removing Acuity's branding: Acuity Premium, from $49 per month on yearly billing.

Acuity prices are from its pricing page in October 2026. Acuity is owned by Squarespace, and its plans also appear as Squarespace Scheduling.

Which Acuity Scheduling alternative should you pick?

  • Run a salon, clinic or studio with a small team? RazorBooking gives you text and WhatsApp reminders, deposits, intake forms and coupons from the first plan, plus optional AI answering.

  • Want booking, payments and a marketplace in one beauty or fitness platform? Vagaro.

  • Need a free plan for a small team? Setmore.

  • A solo professional who wants a clean branded page? YouCanBookMe.

  • Have developers or want open source? Cal.com.

  • Need a free plan that can send text reminders? SimplyBook.me.

  • Want to pay once? TidyCal.

  • Mostly book meetings? Calendly.

  • Need Apple or iCloud Calendar sync? Stay with Acuity.

Try RazorBooking free for 7 days. Add your team and turn on reminders today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.

How we compared these tools

We reviewed each vendor's public pricing and product pages in October 2026, and read Acuity's reviews on Trustpilot and G2 and Reddit threads from Acuity users to find the complaints that come up most often. We picked the alternatives that appear most often on the top-ranking Acuity alternatives pages. We compared them on price, free plan, payments and deposits, reminders and AI booking. We did not run hands-on tests of the other tools. When a vendor's page did not mention a feature, we marked it as not stated instead of assuming it is missing.

We make RazorBooking, so we have a stake in the result. Plans and prices change, so check each vendor's site before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Acuity Scheduling alternative?

It depends on your business. RazorBooking is the best fit for salons, clinics and studios with a small team that want text reminders and deposits on a low plan. Vagaro suits beauty and fitness businesses, Setmore suits teams that want a free plan, and Cal.com suits developers.

How much does Acuity Scheduling cost?

Starter is $16 per month on yearly billing ($20 monthly) for 1 calendar. Standard is $27 ($34) for up to 6 calendars, and Premium is $49 ($61) for up to 36. There is a 7-day free trial.

What is a free alternative to Acuity Scheduling?

Setmore is free for up to 4 users with unlimited appointments. SimplyBook.me has a free plan with 50 bookings and SMS and WhatsApp reminders. TidyCal and YouCanBookMe also have free plans for one person.

Is Acuity Scheduling owned by Squarespace?

Yes. Squarespace owns Acuity Scheduling, and its plans also appear as Squarespace Scheduling. Some long-time users report glitches and login problems since the move.

Is Acuity or Calendly better?

Acuity is better for client appointments, with intake forms and payments. Calendly is better for meetings and sales calls, and has a free plan.

Is Acuity or Setmore better?

Setmore is cheaper and has a free plan for up to 4 users. Acuity adds text reminders and up to 6 calendars on its Standard plan.

Sources

WRITTEN BY

RazorBooking team

RazorBooking team

We build RazorBooking and write about bookings, payments and running a service business.

Grain texture

Start taking
bookings online today

Add your services, set your hours, and share your booking link.

No credit card needed.

  • Zero commission on every booking
  • Deposits or full payment upfront
  • Reminders by email, SMS, and WhatsApp
  • A calendar for every team member
  • An AI voice agent add-on that takes bookings
  • Embed on the website you already have
  • 7-day free trial
Grain texture

Start taking
bookings online today

Add your services, set your hours, and share your booking link.

No credit card needed.

  • Zero commission on every booking
  • Deposits or full payment upfront
  • Reminders by email, SMS, and WhatsApp
  • A calendar for every team member
  • An AI voice agent add-on that takes bookings
  • Embed on the website you already have
  • 7-day free trial