GlossGenius charges $48 a month before you get intake forms or a waitlist. Compare 7 GlossGenius alternatives for hairdressers and salons in 2027.
GlossGenius is a full beauty business suite: marketing campaigns, payroll, commissions, room scheduling, team goals and analytics. That is great if you use all of it. But most hairdressers, nail technicians and lash artists just need clients to book, pay a deposit and show up. They end up paying for the suite anyway, and forms, the waitlist and Google booking only start on Gold, at $48 a month.
If you want a simpler GlossGenius alternative that costs less, this guide is for you. Below we lay out where GlossGenius falls short, with sources, then compare seven alternatives: RazorBooking, Vagaro, Booksy, Square Appointments, StyleSeat, Fresha and Setmore. Further down, we compare GlossGenius pricing plan by plan, including Gold vs Standard.
We make RazorBooking, so we list it first, with the same pros and cons as every other tool. Every fact about the other tools comes from the vendor's own pages, checked in October 2026.
The short list
Best GlossGenius alternative for hairdressers and small salons: RazorBooking
Best all-in-one with a marketplace: Vagaro
Best for marketplace bookings and free text reminders: Booksy
Best free plan with unlimited staff calendars: Square Appointments
Best for independent stylists who want new clients: StyleSeat
Best for a big beauty marketplace: Fresha
Best free plan for a small team: Setmore
Why people leave GlossGenius: 6 problems users keep reporting
These are the limits and complaints that come up again and again, on GlossGenius's own pricing page, in reviews, in Better Business Bureau complaints and on Reddit.
1. You pay for a whole suite when you only need bookings
GlossGenius is vertical software for beauty, so every plan carries tools a solo stylist may never open. Standard costs $24 a month on yearly billing or $28 monthly. Forms and waivers, the automated waitlist, Google booking and reviews, time tracking and room management start on Gold, at $48 or $56 a month. Team goals, commissions and marketing analytics are on Platinum, at $148 or $168. One Capterra reviewer said simply, "I wish more options were available to basic subscribers."
2. Prices rise and features move up a tier
A Capterra reviewer wrote in November 2025, "They are continuously raising the prices and making different tiers." Another, in February 2026, said, "I have to pay for gold to get a SOAP note format." Estheticians on Reddit's r/Esthetics describe features they used to have on the base plan, such as automated forms, moving behind Gold and Platinum.
3. Glitches, especially after updates
Stylists on Reddit's r/hairstylist report the app lagging or crashing at checkout and appointments briefly disappearing from the calendar. On Capterra, one reviewer wrote, "Every time they make an update, it seems to throw everything off." Another said the website and app have "on rare occasions" crashed so "clients aren't able to book appointments," and a third found the platform "quite glitchy."
4. Held payouts and verification loops
Payments in GlossGenius run through GlossGenius. The Better Business Bureau lists 37 complaints in the last three years, and GlossGenius is not BBB accredited. In April 2026 one business wrote, "Since March 15th, GlossGenius has withheld my funds," reporting about $13,000 affected. In May 2026 another said payouts "were being withheld from going into my bank account due to ID verification issues." A stylist on r/hairstylist posted that GlossGenius had held their money for three weeks. Instant payouts also cost an extra 1.8%.
5. Support can be hard to reach
A Software Advice reviewer wrote in March 2026, "AI customer service, ZERO way to call or speak to a human when issues happen." A Capterra reviewer the same month described "overall poor costumer service." Not every user has this experience, but it hurts most when payments or bookings are down.
6. Reminders run on fixed timing
GoReminders, a competitor, notes that GlossGenius sends reminders "according to preset schedules," such as confirmation emails 72 hours before the appointment, with "no option for changing this schedule." A Capterra reviewer agreed: "I can't customize exactly how many text message reminders." Marketing texts beyond the plan's allowance cost extra.
When GlossGenius is still the right tool
If you use the whole suite, including marketing campaigns, payroll and commissions, GlossGenius puts it all in one polished app. Its flat 2.6% card rate is lower than many processors' online rates, and it scores 4.8 on Capterra from 350 reviews. If that is you, staying can make sense. The alternatives below are for pros who want the booking basics without paying for the rest.
GlossGenius alternatives compared: two quick tables
Best GlossGenius alternative by use case
Use case | Best tool | Why it fits |
|---|---|---|
Hairdressers, nail technicians and small salons that just need booking | RazorBooking | Booking website, deposits, no-show fees, intake forms and WhatsApp reminders from $15 a month |
AI that answers calls and website visitors | RazorBooking | Optional AI phone receptionist and voice widget. GlossGenius Reception is $50 a month. |
All-in-one with a marketplace | Vagaro | Booking, payments, marketing and a free Vagaro marketplace listing |
Marketplace bookings and free text reminders | Booksy | Free SMS confirmations and reminders, and a marketplace listing |
A free plan for a larger team | Square Appointments | Unlimited staff calendars on the free plan |
Independent stylists who want new clients | StyleSeat | A beauty marketplace that sends you new clients, for a one-time fee |
A big beauty marketplace | Fresha | A fee only on new clients it sends you, nothing on returning clients |
A free plan for a small team | Setmore | Free for up to 4 users with unlimited appointments |
You use payroll, commissions and marketing campaigns every week | Stay with GlossGenius | The full suite is what you pay for |
Feature-by-feature comparison
Feature | RazorBooking | Vagaro | Booksy | Square Appointments | StyleSeat | Fresha | Setmore | GlossGenius (for reference) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Best for | Pros and small teams who need booking basics | Salons, spas and fitness studios | Barbers and stylists who want marketplace clients | Businesses already using Square | Independent beauty pros | Beauty and wellness businesses | Small teams on a budget | Beauty businesses using the full suite |
Free plan | ✗ No. 7-day free trial, no credit card needed. | ✗ No, 30-day trial | ✗ No, 14-day trial | ✓ Yes, without no-show fees | ✗ No | ✗ No, 7-day trial | ✓ Yes, up to 4 users | ✗ No, 14-day trial |
Paid plans start at | $15 per month billed yearly, $19 monthly (Solo, 3 team members) | $23.99 per month for the first 6 months ($30 list) | $29.99 per month, plus $20 per extra user | $49 per month per location (Plus) | $35 per month ($19 promo) | $19.95 per month for 1 team member | $5 per user per month billed yearly | $24 per month billed yearly, $28 monthly |
Fee on new clients | ✓ None | Not stated | 30% of a Boost client's first visit, up to $100, only if Boost is on | Not stated | 30% of a new client's first appointment, up to $50 | 20% of a new marketplace client, $6 minimum | Not stated | ✓ None |
Deposits and no-show fees | ✓ Deposits, no-show and cancellation fees from Solo | Not stated on the pricing page | ✓ No-show protection included | No-show fees on Plus and Premium only | Not stated on the pages we checked | ✓ Deposits and no-show fees listed | Deposits on Pro | ✓ Deposit, cancellation and no-show policies |
Card fees | No RazorBooking card fee. Your own Stripe or PayPal rate. | Vagaro Merchant Services | 2.69% + 30¢ for mobile and keyed payments | Online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free, 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus | 2.5% + 30¢ in person | 2.79% + 20¢ online | Your processor's fees (Square, Stripe, PayPal) | Flat 2.6%. Instant payouts 1.8% extra. |
Reminders | ✓ WhatsApp, SMS and email from Solo | Unlimited notifications and reminders | ✓ Free SMS confirmations and reminders | Reminders on every plan | Not stated | 100 free texts per team member a month, then 2¢ each | 1 email reminder on Free. SMS on Pro. | Unlimited client notifications, on preset timing |
Booking website | ✓ Built-in booking website. Your own domain on Pro and Growth. | Booking plus a Vagaro marketplace listing | Booksy marketplace profile | Free online booking site | StyleSeat marketplace profile | Booking links plus the Fresha marketplace | Booking page | Custom booking website |
AI | ✓ Optional AI voice widget and AI phone receptionist | Vera AI for marketing and client messages | Not stated | Square Assistant writes appointment messages | Not stated | Not stated | ✗ None. Human Live Receptionist at $99 per month (US only). | Reception add-on for calls and texts, $50 per month |
"Not stated" means the vendor's pricing page does not mention it, not that the feature is missing. StyleSeat figures come from StyleSeat's own blog. Plans and prices change, so confirm on each site.
The 7 best GlossGenius alternatives, reviewed
1. RazorBooking: best for hairdressers, nail technicians and small salons that just need booking done right
RazorBooking is a booking and appointment platform for businesses that sell services. It doesn't try to be a full beauty suite. Instead it covers what a hairdresser, nail technician, lash artist or barber uses every day: a booking website, deposits, no-show fees, intake forms and reminders. That is why it costs less than GlossGenius.

Key features
Built-in booking website. A ready booking site for your business, and your own domain on Pro and Growth.
Deposits, no-show and cancellation fees from Solo. Protect your time without upgrading.
Intake forms from Solo. Ask your own questions at booking. On GlossGenius, forms and waivers start on Gold.
WhatsApp, SMS and email reminders. Clients get confirmations and reminders in the app they already read.
No RazorBooking card fee. Connect your own Stripe or PayPal account. Your money goes to your own payment account.
Team members included. 3 on Solo, 5 on Pro and 10 on Growth, with clients choosing who they see.
AI phone receptionist and voice widget (optional). AI that answers calls and website visitors, checks availability and books the client.

Pros
The booking basics for much less than GlossGenius Gold
Intake forms, deposits and no-show fees on the first plan
WhatsApp reminders, and coupons for promotions
No RazorBooking card fee, and your own payment account
Cons
A 7-day free trial instead of a free plan, with no credit card needed
No Apple or iCloud Calendar sync; Google and Outlook calendars sync both ways
Pricing
Solo is $15 per month on yearly billing ($19 monthly) and includes 3 team members, a booking website, deposits, no-show fees, intake forms, coupons and WhatsApp reminders. Pro is $29 per month on yearly billing ($39 monthly), includes 5 team members and adds your own domain. Growth is $49 per month on yearly billing ($59 monthly) and includes 10 team members. Extra team members are $9 a month billed yearly ($10 monthly). Every plan works without AI. If you want AI answering, turn it on for any plan: Solo with AI is $25 a month billed yearly ($29 monthly), Pro $49 ($59) and Growth $79 ($99), with 50, 150 or 300 AI minutes a month. Every plan starts with a 7-day free trial, no credit card needed.
RazorBooking vs GlossGenius
A salon of four that wants intake forms or a waitlist on GlossGenius needs Gold, its plan for teams of up to 9. On RazorBooking, the same salon uses Solo with 1 extra team member.
Competitor plan | RazorBooking plan |
|---|---|
GlossGenius Gold: $48–$56 per month for a team of 4 that needs forms and waivers | RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member: $24–$29 per month for 4 team members, with intake forms, deposits and WhatsApp reminders |
You save $24 to $27 every month, or $288 to $324 a year.
Compare like with like: $48 against $24 is yearly billing, and $56 against $29 is monthly billing. Card fees come on top for both: GlossGenius's flat 2.6%, or your own Stripe or PayPal rate on RazorBooking.
When to choose RazorBooking
Choose RazorBooking if you are a hairdresser, nail technician, lash artist, barber or small salon that wants a booking website, deposits, no-show fees, intake forms and reminders, without paying for payroll, commissions and marketing tools you don't use. Stay with GlossGenius if you run your whole business on its full suite.
Start your 7-day free trial. Get your booking website live today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
2. Vagaro: best all-in-one with a marketplace
Vagaro is a business platform for beauty, wellness and fitness, and the tool people compare with GlossGenius most often. Like GlossGenius it is a full suite, but it adds a consumer marketplace.
Key features
Payments built in. Every plan includes payments, and a free card reader comes with Vagaro Merchant Services.
Marketplace listing. A free listing on the Vagaro marketplace.
Reminders. Unlimited notifications and appointment reminders.
Vera AI. An AI assistant for marketing and client messages.
Pros
New clients from the marketplace
Unlimited reminders
Lower starting price than GlossGenius Gold
Cons
No free plan, only a 30-day trial
The $23.99 price is an introductory rate for 6 months, then $30
Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven
Pricing
One location is $23.99 per month for the first 6 months, then $30. Extra bookable calendars are $10 each, up to seven. There is a 30-day free trial.
When to choose Vagaro
Choose Vagaro if you want a full suite like GlossGenius plus marketplace exposure.
3. Booksy: best for marketplace bookings and free text reminders
Booksy is a booking app popular with barbers and stylists. Its marketplace helps clients find you, and text reminders are free.
Key features
Free SMS reminders. Appointment confirmations and reminders cost nothing, plus 2,000 marketing texts a month.
No-show protection. Included in the plan.
Marketplace and Boost. A free listing, and an optional Boost that charges 30% of a new client's first visit, up to $100.
Payments. 2.69% + 30¢ for mobile and keyed payments.
Pros
Free text reminders
Marketplace listing included
No-show protection included
Cons
No free plan, only a 14-day trial
Each extra user is $20 a month, so a team of 4 pays $89.99
Boost takes 30% of a new client's first visit
Pricing
$29.99 per month, plus $20 per month for each additional user. There is a 14-day free trial.
When to choose Booksy
Choose Booksy if you work alone or with one other person and want marketplace clients and free text reminders.
4. Square Appointments: best free plan with unlimited staff calendars
Square Appointments is the booking tool from Square, the payments company. Its free plan includes unlimited staff calendars, but no-show protection costs more.
Key features
Free plan. An online booking site, reminders and unlimited staff calendars.
Payments built in. Bookings and Square payments in one account.
Plus plan. Adds no-show fees, a cancellation policy, multi-staff booking and a waitlist.
Pros
Free plan with unlimited staff calendars
Payments and bookings in one place
Reminders on every plan
Cons
No-show fees start on Plus, at $49 per month per location
Sellers report Plus went from $29 to $49 in February 2026
Online payments cost 3.3% + 30¢ on the free plan
Pricing
Free is $0. Plus is $49 and Premium is $149 per month per location. See our Square Appointments alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Square Appointments
Choose Square Appointments if you already take payments with Square and want a free plan for a larger team.
5. StyleSeat: best for independent stylists who want new clients
StyleSeat is a marketplace and booking app for independent beauty professionals. Unlike GlossGenius, it brings you new clients, for a fee.
Key features
Marketplace. Clients search StyleSeat and book you directly.
New-client fee. 30% of a new client's first appointment, up to $50, charged once per client.
Payments. 2.5% + 30¢ in person.
Pros
Brings you new clients
Built for independent beauty pros
Promo pricing for new members
Cons
A 30% fee on each new client's first appointment
No free plan
Your profile sits next to other local pros
Pricing
$35 per month, with a $19 per month promo, according to StyleSeat's blog.
When to choose StyleSeat
Choose StyleSeat if you are an independent stylist building a client list and the new-client fee is worth it to you.
6. Fresha: best for a big beauty marketplace
Fresha is booking software for beauty and wellness businesses, with a large consumer marketplace.
Key features
Marketplace. A one-time 20% fee on new clients it sends, with a $6 minimum, and nothing on returning clients.
Deposits and no-show fees. Listed among its payment features.
Text reminders. 100 free texts per team member a month, then 2¢ each.
Payments. 2.79% + 20¢ online, through Fresha.
Pros
New clients from a large marketplace
No fee on returning clients
Free text allowance each month
Cons
No free plan, only a 7-day trial
A 20% fee on every new marketplace client
Priced per bookable team member
Pricing
Independent is $19.95 per month for one team member. Team is $14.95 per bookable team member per month.
When to choose Fresha
Choose Fresha if you want marketplace clients and the 20% new-client fee is worth it to you.
7. Setmore: best free plan for a small team
Setmore is a simple booking tool with a free plan for up to 4 users and unlimited appointments.
Key features
Unlimited appointments. On every plan.
Payments on Free. Square, Stripe and PayPal payments, even on the free plan.
Pro features. Deposits, SMS reminders with 500 credits a month, two-way calendar sync and branding removal.
Pros
Free for up to 4 users
No booking cap
Low per-user price on Pro
Cons
The free plan has no deposits or SMS reminders
Each staff calendar counts as a user on Pro
Not built specifically for beauty
Pricing
Free is $0 for up to 4 users. Pro is $5 per user per month on annual billing. See our Setmore alternatives guide for more.
When to choose Setmore
Choose Setmore if you want a free plan for a small team and can wait for deposits until you upgrade.
GlossGenius pricing in 2027, compared with RazorBooking
GlossGenius has three beauty and wellness plans, plus a flat 2.6% card fee on every payment. There is no free plan, only a 14-day trial. Here is what each one includes, next to RazorBooking.
Plan | Price (yearly / monthly) | Team | Good to know |
|---|---|---|---|
GlossGenius Standard | $24 / $28 | For businesses just starting out | Booking website, unlimited client notifications, email and text marketing |
GlossGenius Gold | $48 / $56 | Up to 9 staff | Adds forms and waivers, waitlist, Google booking and reviews, time tracking, room management |
GlossGenius Platinum | $148 / $168 | 10 or more staff | Adds team goals and analytics, commissions, marketing analytics and 2,500 marketing texts |
RazorBooking Solo | $15 / $19 | 3 team members | Booking website, intake forms, deposits, no-show fees, coupons, WhatsApp reminders. No RazorBooking card fee. |
RazorBooking Pro | $29 / $39 | 5 team members | Everything in Solo, plus your own domain |
GlossGenius Gold vs Standard: what you get for the extra $24
Gold doubles the price of Standard. For that you get forms and waivers, the automated waitlist, Google booking and reviews, time tracking and room management. If you only need intake forms, RazorBooking includes them on Solo, for less than GlossGenius Standard.
What a real business pays
Solo stylist: GlossGenius Standard, $24 per month on yearly billing. RazorBooking Solo, $15, with intake forms included.
Salon of 4 that needs forms: GlossGenius Gold, $48. RazorBooking Solo with 1 extra team member, $24.
Salon of 6: GlossGenius Gold, $48. RazorBooking Pro with 1 extra team member, $38.
Extras on GlossGenius: Reception at $50 a month, payroll at $40 a month plus $6 per seat, and 1.8% for instant payouts.
GlossGenius prices are from its pricing page in October 2026. Card fees are not included above: GlossGenius charges a flat 2.6%, and RazorBooking adds no card fee on top of your own Stripe or PayPal rate.
Which GlossGenius alternative should you pick?
A hairdresser, nail technician or small salon that just needs booking done right? RazorBooking gives you a booking website, deposits, no-show fees, intake forms and WhatsApp reminders from $15 a month.
Want a full suite with a marketplace? Vagaro.
Want marketplace clients and free text reminders? Booksy.
Already take payments with Square? Square Appointments.
An independent stylist building a client list? StyleSeat.
Want a big beauty marketplace? Fresha.
Need a free plan for a small team? Setmore.
Use payroll, commissions and marketing campaigns every week? GlossGenius can still be the right fit.
Try RazorBooking free for 7 days. Get your booking website live today at razorbooking.com. No credit card needed.
How we compared these tools
We reviewed each vendor's public pricing and product pages in October 2026. We read GlossGenius reviews on Capterra and Software Advice, its Better Business Bureau complaints and Reddit threads from GlossGenius users to find the complaints that come up most often. We picked the alternatives that appear on the top-ranking GlossGenius alternatives pages and that people search for alongside GlossGenius. We compared them on price, free plan, new-client fees, deposits and no-show fees, card fees, reminders and booking websites. We did not run hands-on tests of the other tools. When a vendor's page did not mention a feature, we marked it as not stated instead of assuming it is missing.
We make RazorBooking, so we have a stake in the result. Plans and prices change, so check each vendor's site before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best GlossGenius alternatives?
It depends on what you need. RazorBooking is the best fit for pros and small salons that want the booking basics for less. Vagaro suits those who want a full suite with a marketplace, Booksy and StyleSeat suit stylists who want marketplace clients, and Setmore suits small teams that want a free plan.
What is the best GlossGenius alternative for hairdressers?
For hairdressers who mainly need online booking, deposits, no-show fees and reminders, RazorBooking costs $15 a month on yearly billing and includes 3 team members. Hairdressers who want a marketplace to find new clients often look at Booksy, StyleSeat or Vagaro.
How much does GlossGenius cost?
Standard is $24 per month on yearly billing ($28 monthly), Gold is $48 ($56) and Platinum is $148 ($168). Card payments cost a flat 2.6%. There is a 14-day free trial and no free plan.
Is GlossGenius or Vagaro better?
Both are full beauty suites. Vagaro adds a consumer marketplace and starts at $23.99 a month for the first 6 months, while GlossGenius has a flat 2.6% card rate and no marketplace. Pick Vagaro for new-client exposure, and GlossGenius for its polished all-in-one app.
Is GlossGenius or Booksy better?
Booksy includes a marketplace, free text reminders and no-show protection, but charges $20 for each extra user. GlossGenius has no marketplace or new-client fees, and its Gold plan covers teams of up to 9.
Is GlossGenius or Square better?
Square Appointments has a free plan with unlimited staff calendars, but no-show fees start on Plus at $49 per location. GlossGenius is built only for beauty, starts at $24 a month on yearly billing, and charges a flat 2.6% per card payment, against 2.9% + 30¢ online on Square Plus.
Sources
Reddit threads: r/hairstylist (crashes), r/hairstylist (held money), r/Esthetics
WRITTEN BY

RazorBooking team
We build RazorBooking and write about bookings, payments and running a service business.



